King Power Stadium

King Power Stadium

King Power Stadium is the home venue for Leicester City FC and is also known as Leicester City Stadium or Filbert Way. This venue first opened its doors in 2002 and it can hold more than 32,000 fans which makes it the 20th biggest football venue in England. It is named after the travel retail group of the owners of the club.

History of King Power Stadium


The former stadium for Leicester City was not too far away at Filbert Street, with the team having this as its base since as far back as 1891.


After the Taylor Report was published in 1990 and recommended that all major football stadiums in England have to be all-seaters, renovations were done to the previous stadiums to make it fit these requirements.

However, as the team became a part of the Premier League and attendances were rising, the decision was made to create a new home for the team.


It was towards the beginning of 1998 that plans were first announced for a new stadium with 40,000 seats. This was to be located at Bede Island South. However, these plans were shelved.


It was in November 2000 that plans for King Power Stadium were unveiled. Work started in summer 2001 and it was ready in time for the beginning of the 2002/2003 season.


At the time, the club had just been relegated out of the Premier League and had debts of as much as £30 million, with the stadium having a total cost of about £37 million. The record attendance was set for the King Power Stadium in the first game at home during the 2015/2016 season when Leicester City hosted Sunderland.

The stadium has played host to some rugby union games over the years, often for Leicester Tigers games, as well as hosting three pool games during the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

The layout of the King Power Stadium

There are four stadiums in total at King Power Stadium that make up the arena. The away supporters are usually housed in the corner between the East and North stand. The North stadiums named the Lineker Stand after the club's iconic striker. The South Stand is called the Fosse Stand after the club's original name, Leicester Fosse.

Leicester City FC

Leicester FC is a Premier League club that plays its home games at King Power Stadium since 2002. It was founded in 1884, originally using the name Leicester Fosse. The club’s crowning achievement when they managed to win the Premier League in 2015/2016 despite being massive underdogs.

It is only one of a few clubs to have won the Premier League title and many people described this win as being the biggest upset in the history of sports. The highest finish in top-flight football for the club was second place way back in 1928/1929.

The club has spent the vast majority of its existence in the top two leagues of football, only having spent a single season outside of these top two divisions. The club has won a joint-record seven titles of second-tier football.

They have also managed to get to the FA Cup final on four occasions and have been the League Cup champion on three occasions. The club's main rivals are deemed to be Nottingham Forest and Derby County. There is also a rivalry with Coventry City. Many notable players have gone through the club over the years, including Les Ferdinand, Dennis Wise, Harry Maguire and Jamie Vardy.

Betting on games at King Power Stadium

There are many great games that take place at King Power Stadium every season. Leicester City is now a force to be reckoned with in English football, providing an exciting style of play no matter what team is involved in the game.

You can place bets on games at King Power Stadium with all of the sportsbooks that you come across. To see which of these options is best for your needs, you can check out the expert reviews at After choosing one of these sites, you can sign up for an account in just a few minutes.

Receive bonuses and promos direct to your inbox

Click here

games slots