Philadelphia Eagles

Philadelphia Eagles

Playing in the NFL’s National Football Conference East division, the Philadelphia Eagles represent one of America’s major cities and have been one of the leading teams in the sport for many decades.

As one of the most recognisable names around, you will see The Eagles listed on all major betting lists every football weekend.

History of the Eagles

Back in 1933, the bankrupt Frankford Yellowjackets were bought by Lud Wray and Bert Bell.

Bell established an NFL franchise in the city of Philadelphia the same year. He adopted the symbol of an eagle for the club, echoing the insignia used for Franklin D. Roosevelt’s New Deal programme to help get the country out of the Great Depression.

Bert Bell had limited success with the franchise, and the side has had mixed fortunes down the decades. Under the current owner, Jeffrey Lurie, however, the Philadelphia Eagles have had steadier form. They won the Super Bowl in 2017, beating favourites the New England Patriots 41-33 in Minneapolis.

Over the years the team has built up an intensive rivalry with the New York Giants.

The Eagles’ Home Field

In their long history, the Eagles have played their football at six different venues. The Baker Bowl was home between 1933 and 1935, with the Philadelphia Municipal Stadium housing the team from 1936 to 1939 and again in 1941.

The Connie Mack Stadium was used in 1940 and then longer-term from 1942 to 1958. Franklin Field was the home ground from1958 through to 1970).

In the modern era, many remember the Eagles playing at the Veterans Stadium, which they did between 1971 and 2002. However, the Vet, as it was known, had insufficient luxury/corporate seating or wheelchair access. It needed to be replaced by a more modern and fitting arena.

Enter the Lincoln Financial Field, known to the locals as The Linc. The stadium is just 6 miles from Center City in Philadelphia. It's based right near the banks of the Delaware River on the Pennsylvanian side. [The river forms the natural border with neighbouring state New Jersey.]

Construction on the Lincoln Field began in May of 2001 and it opened in August 2003, just in time for the new season. The project cost around $720 million in today’s money. The Linc was renovated and expanded in 2013 and 2014 and now has a capacity of 69,796.

As well as gaining notoriety as home to the Philadelphia Eagles, The Linc has been used by many other teams. The Temple Owls university team also plays there, and the ground has also hosted the traditional Army-Navy game on several occasions.

Football (soccer) has been played here many times too, notably the 2003 women’s World Cup games, the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup and a high-profile pre-season match between Manchester United and Barcelona, which attracted a near sell-out crowd of 68,396.

Notable Eagles Characters

As you would imagine, a franchise with this long history has had a good number of names added to football’s Hall of Fame. Philadelphia players inducted into the HoF include:

Eric Allen, Chuck Bednarik, Bill Bergey, Tom Brookshier, Bob Brown, Jerome Brown, Harold Carmichael, Randall Cunningham, Bill Hewitt, Ron Jaworski, Sonny Jurgensen, Ollie Matson, Tommy McDonald, Wilbert Montgomery, Pete Pihos, Mike Quick, Pete Retzlaff, Jim Ringo, Jerry Sisemore, Norm Van Brocklin, Steve Van Buren, Stan Walters, Reggie White, Al Wistert and Alex Wojciechowicz.

As well as the on-field Eagles greats, owner Bert Bell, head trainer Otho Davis, defensive coordinator Jim Johnson, coaches Earle Neale and Dick Vermeil, as well as executive Jim Gallagher, have also all been added to the Hall of Fame.

Philadelphia Eagles’ Biggest Achievements

Despite winning the Super Bowl only the once, the team – sometimes nicknamed The Iggles or The Birds – has a long list of accomplishments:

  • NFL Championship Winners (pre-merger) x 3 – 1948, 1949, 1960
  • Super Bowl Winners x 1 – 2017
  • NFL Easter Conference Winners x 1 – 1960
  • NFC Champions x 3 – 1980, 2004, 2017
  • NFL East Championship Winners x 3 – 1947, 1948, 1949
  • NFC East Championship Winners x 11 – 1980, 1988, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2010, 2013, 2017, 2019

The Philadelphia Eagles have also played in the playoffs no less than 27, reaching them four times in a row in the late-70’s and early ’80s.

Bet the Eagles with Now!

You can wager on all Philadelphia Eagles games via Bet with one of our recommended online bookmakers now to wager quickly, safely and securely.

Receive bonuses and promos direct to your inbox

Click here

games slots